Filing for partisan nomination or an independent candidacy for the 2022 general election concludes Monday. Applications must be received by the relevant party official by 6 p.m. that day.

Our Crib Sheets are updated throughout the day to reflect the latest filings and announcements. As of 9 p.m. today (Thursday), we are tracking 864 statewide, legislative and congressional candidates. Of those, at least 543 have filed, and others likely have, but those filings have not been reported by their respective parties.

AGRIC (Likely R): Austin attorney and hemp advocate Susan Hays filed for the Democratic nomination to challenge Comm. Sid Miller (R).

SD10 (Likely R): Sen. Beverly Powell (D-Burleson) filed for re-election.

HD23 (Likely R): Texas City school security consultant and Texas City ISD trustee Mike Matranga established a campaign committee for a potential run for the seat being vacated by Rep. Mayes Middleton (R-Wallisville). Matranga was elected to an at-large position on the school board in May. Kemah psychologist Gina Smith, who had been challenging U.S. Rep. Randy Weber (R-Friendswood) for the CD14 seat, announced she would run for open HD23 instead. Former Mont Belvieu city manager Nathan E. Watkins established a campaign committee for the race. We were unable to determine his political affiliation conclusively.

HD38 open (Safe D): Brownsville attorney and Cameron Co. Justice of the Peace Jonathan Gracia (D) filed as a Democrat for the seat being vacated by Reps. Alex Dominguez (D-Brownsville) and Eddie Lucio III (D-Brownsville). Gracia was first elected in 2014 and re-elected in 2018.

HD39 (Likely D): La Joya electrical supervisor Jimmie Garcia established a campaign committee for a potential challenge of Rep. Mando Martinez (D-Weslaco). Social media activity suggests he would run as a Republican.

HD70 (Toss Up): Plano real estate investor Eric J. Bowlin established a campaign committee for a potential run for an open Collin Co. seat. We were unable to determine his partisan affiliation conclusively.

HD91 (Likely R): Registered nurse Ben Damico filed to challenge Rep. Stephanie Klick (R-Fort Worth) in the primary, becoming the fourth Republican to file against her.

HD100 open (Safe D): Dallas business owner Daniel Clayton filed for the Democratic nomination for the seat being vacated by Rep. Jasmine Crockett (D-Dallas). Clayton unsuccessfully sought the Democratic nomination for the seat in 2020 (7%) following an unsuccessful run for the seat in a 2019 special election (21%).

HD150 (Likely R): Former Rep. Debbie Riddle (R-Tomball) announced she would challenge Rep. Valoree Swanson (R-Spring) in the primary. Riddle joins Spring skip tracer and insurance adjuster Valerie McGilvrey, and a Bryan Le, both of whom filed today. Riddle served eight terms before losing the 2016 Republican primary to Swanson, 52%-40%.

CD27 (Likely R): Jackson County Sheriff Al Lauderback (R) is expected to announce a primary challenge of U.S. Rep. Michael Cloud (R-Victoria), who already has three filed primary challengers.

Dallas County: Former Dallas council member Philip Kingston filed as a Democrat to challenge Dallas Co. Comm. J.J. Koch (R). Kingston served two terms before losing a 2019 re-election bid to David Blewett. Tom Ervin and Andrew Sommerman are already in the race for the Democratic nomination.

Ballot Access Suit: The Libertarian Party of Texas filed suit against the state challenging provisions of the Election Code requiring minor party candidates to pay filing fees. Prior to the 2020 election, those fees were assessed only to Democratic and Republican candidates, ostensibly to offset the costs of running primary elections. The Libertarian Party chooses its nominees by convention.

©2021 Texas Election Source LLC