HD79 special: Reps. Cesar Blanco (D-El Paso), Mary Gonzalez (D-El Paso) and Joe Moody (D-El Paso) endorsed Art Fierro, chair of the El Paso Community College board, for the special election that will fill Rep. Joe Pickett’s (D-El Paso) unexpired term following his January 4 resignation.

HD145 special: Houston nurse Martha Fierro (R), who came in third in the recent SD6 special election, has revised her campaign committee to run for the House seat belonging to that special election’s winner, Rep. Carol Alvarado (D-Houston). Fierro, a Republican precinct chair and former field organizer for the Gov. Greg Abbott (R) campaign, received 23% of the vote as the lone Republican in the four-person SD6 field. Fierro’s announced her intent to run the day after the SD6 election.

Dallas: Real estate developer Mike Ablon announced he would run for mayor. He is the fifth candidate to enter the race officially, joining businessman and former Dallas Housing Authority chair Albert Black, former City Attorney Larry Casto, nonprofit executive Lynn McBee and former Hillary Clinton presidential campaign fundraiser Regina Montoya. Mayor Mike Rawlings is term-limited.

©2018 Texas Election Source LLC