Today (Monday) was the deadline to file for partisan nomination or independent candidacy for statewide, legislative, congressional and county offices on the 2022 general election ballot. Our Crib Sheets have the latest known status of more than 1,000 candidates for statewide, legislative and congressional offices. It will take at least a week for all filings to be reported, so expect additional challengers and open-seat candidates will emerge despite today’s deadline.

GOV (Likely R): There are always surprises on deadline day, and the first one came when Rick Perry filed to challenge Gov. Greg Abbott (R) in the primary. Of course, it was not former Gov. Rick Perry (R) despite the identical name. Quorum Report’s Scott Braddock confirmed fairly quickly that he is instead Springtown resident Rick Lynn Perry (no relation). Tony McDonald, who was the general counsel to Empower Texans, is Perry’s campaign treasurer, according to the Texas Tribune’s Patrick Svitek.

To access this post you need a TX Elects Subscription.


FOR JUST $19.99 A MONTH OR $199.99 A YEAR