HD47 (Lean Democratic): Jennifer Fleck, who lost the Republican runoff to Justin Berry by nearly 1,100 votes, said she would file a lawsuit next week contesting the election results.

HD67 (Toss-up): Rep. Jeff Leach (R-Allen) was endorsed by Allen Mayor Debbie Stout and five Allen council members.

Annie’s List Endorsements: Annie’s List announced the endorsements of nine women challenging Republican incumbents:

  • Lydia Bean in HD93 (Lean Republican) over Rep. Matt Krause (R-Fort Worth)
  • Angela Brewer in HD64 (Lean Repblican) over Rep. Lynn Stucky (R-Sanger)
  • Brandy Chambers in HD112 (Toss-up) over Rep. Angie Chen Button (R-Garland)
  • Janet Dudding in HD14 (Lean Republican) over Rep. John Raney (R-College Station)
  • Sharon Hirsch in HD66 (Lean Democratic) over Rep. Matt Shaheen (R-Plano)
  • Ann Johnson in HD134 (Lean Democratic) over Rep. Sarah Davis (R-Houston)
  • Celina Montoya in HD121 (Lean Republican) over Rep. Steve Allison (R-San Antonio)
  • Alisa Simmons in HD94 (Lean Republican) over Rep. Tony Tinderholt (R-Arlington); and
  • Keke Williams in HD54 (Lean Republican) over Rep. Brad Buckley (R-Salado).

PRES (Lean Republican): President Trump’s campaign announced the creation of the Lawyers for Trump coalition, which will be co-chaired by Atty. Gen. Ken Paxton (R).

CD21 (Toss-up): The campaign of Democratic challenger Wendy Davis released an internal poll showing her within the margin of error of U.S. Rep. Chip Roy (R-Austin), trailing him 46%-45%. Presumptive Democratic nominee Joe Biden leads President Trump, 50%-47%, in the district. Very little detail was provided in a one-page poll memo. Garin Hart Yang’s survey of 550 “likely general election voters” was conducted via landlines and mobile devices and was in the field July 14-17. The poll’s stated margin of error is ±4.25%.

Meanwhile, national pundit Larry Sabato moved the seat to Toss-up from Lean Republican in his latest Crystal Ball update. Also, Club for Growth Action made a $2.5M reservation for television advertising to support Roy – more likely oppose Davis – with more spending likely.

Travis Co.: Annie’s List endorsed Travis Co. Democratic Party chair Dyana Limon-Mercado in the special election for Travis County Judge. Precinct chairs will select a nominee for the November ballot at an August 16 meeting. Travis Co. Comm. Jeff Travillion (D) and attorney Andy Brown are also seeking the nomination. Former County Judge Sarah Eckhardt resigned to run for SD14. Sam Biscoe, a former county judge tapped to succeed her, is not seeking the nomination.

©2020 Texas Election Source LLC