Early voting for the March 6 primary election begins Tuesday.

Texas AFT COPE Endorsements: The Texas American Federation of Teachers PAC released its list of primary endorsements, which included two challengers of Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick (R). The union endorsed Republican Scott Milder and Democrat Mike Collier. It made no other endorsements for statewide offices and only one endorsement for the State Board of Education, incumbent Ruben Cortez (D-Brownsville). The union endorsed challengers to four senators and six representatives:

  • Republicans Shannon McClendon and Kristin Tassin over Sens. Donna Campbell (R-New Braunfels) and Joan Huffman (R-Houston), respectively
  • Democrats Beverly Powell and Nathan Johnson against Sens. Konni Burton (R-Colleyville) and Don Huffines (R-Dallas), respectively
  • Republicans Ted Kamel, Jim Largent and James Wilson over Reps. Matt Schaefer (R-Tyler), Mike Lang (R-Granbury) and Valoree Swanson (R-Spring), respectively; and
  • Democrats Terry Meza, Julie Johnson and Jenifer Rene Pool over Reps. Rodney Anderson (R-Grand Prairie), Matt Rinaldi (R-Irving) and Dwayne Bohac (R-Houston), respectively.

The union also endorsed several open-seat Republican candidates running against candidates endorsed by Empower Texans PAC, including endorsing both candidates vying with Thomas McNutt to succeed Rep. Byron Cook (R-Corsicana) in HD8 and the candidates running against former Reps. Stuart Spitzer (R-Kaufman) and Steve Toth (R-The Woodlands).

AGRIC: Comm. Sid Miller has recently been endorsed by the Texas Eagle Forum, Texas Quarter Horse Assoc., the National Rifle Assoc. and former Arkansas Gov. Mike Huckabee (R).

SD8 open: The Dallas Morning News endorsed Angela Paxton (R) and Mark Phariss (D) in their respective primaries for the seat being vacated by Sen. Van Taylor (R-Plano). Meanwhile, Reps. Briscoe Cain (R-Deer Park) and Matt Rinaldi (R-Irving) endorsed Phillip Huffines.

HD9: Texans for Lawsuit Reform PAC endorsed Rep. Chris Paddie (R-Marshall).

HD46: Rep. Dawnna Dukes (D-Austin) did not attend a candidate forum Tuesday night because a stand-up desk fell on her. In a Facebook post, she thanked the medical team at a Round Rock clinic for caring for her injuries.

HD134: Gov. Greg Abbott’s (R) campaign released a new ad comparing Rep. Sarah Davis (R-Houston) to former Sen. Wendy Davis (D-Fort Worth).

Meanwhile, Texans for Lawsuit Reform endorsed Davis.

HD150: U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz (R) endorsed Rep. Valoree Swanson (R-Spring).

CD10: The Houston Chronicle endorsed Mike Siegel and Tami Walker in the Democratic primary to challenge U.S. Rep. Michael McCaul (R-Austin).

CD16 open: The Veronica Escobar campaign released a new ad focused on health care.

CD22: The Houston Chronicle endorsed Sri Preston Kulkarni in the Democratic primary to challenge U.S. Rep. Pete Olson (R-Sugar Land).

CD29 open: The Houston Chronicle endorsed Phillip Aronoff in the Republican primary for the seat being vacated by U.S. Rep. Gene Green (D-Houston).

CD36: The Houston Chronicle endorsed Dayna Steele in the Democratic primary to challenge U.S. Rep. Brian Babin (R-Woodville).

©2018 Texas Election Source LLC