Filing deadline: Today was the deadline for candidates to file for offices on the May 5 uniform election. Write-in candidates must file by Tuesday.

Early voting for the March 6 primary election begins Tuesday.

GOV: The Dallas Morning News endorsed Gov. Greg Abbott (R) in the Republican primary. The paper previously endorsed Andrew White in the Democratic primary.

LAND: The San Antonio Express-News endorsed Comm. George P. Bush (R) and Miguel Sauzo (D) in their respective primaries.

RRC: The San Antonio Express-News endorsed Comm. Christi Craddick (R) and Roman McAllen (D) in their respective primaries.

SD8 open: Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick (R) endorsed Angela Paxton for the seat being vacated by Sen. Van Taylor (R-Plano). “I had initially decided to remain neutral,” Patrick said in a video paid for by his campaign. “But when I saw the personal attacks launched against Angela Paxton, I couldn’t remain on the sidelines any longer.”

In a statement, the Phillip Huffines campaign said they were “disappointed in the personal attacks that Angela Paxton has initiated for months in this race.” Huffines said he would “work closely” with Patrick if elected.

SD17: The Houston Chronicle endorsed Sen. Joan Huffman (R-Houston) and Rita Lucido (D) in their respective primaries.

SD19: U.S. District Judge David Ezra postponed closing arguments until Tuesday for the criminal trial of Sen. Carlos Uresti (D-San Antonio) and a co-defendant. In May, Uresti was charged with 11 felony counts including wire fraud, securities fraud and conspiracy to commit money laundering in connection with a bankrupt frac-sand company and its executives. He has maintained his innocence throughout. Uresti is not up for re-election until 2020.

HD25: Texans for Lawsuit Reform PAC endorsed Rep. Dennis Bonnen (R-Angleton).

HD105: Texans for Lawsuit Reform PAC endorsed Rep. Rodney Anderson (R-Grand Prairie).

SEN: The campaign of U.S. Rep. Beto O’Rourke (D-El Paso) said he raised $2.2M during the first 45 days of 2018. He raised $2.4M during the fourth quarter of 2017. Meanwhile, Texas AFL-CIO COPE endorsed O’Rourke. The union previously excluded the race from its slate of endorsements after O’Rourke did not appear at its January convention.

Also, the Dallas Morning News endorsed Stefano de Stefano over U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz (R) in the Republican primary. The San Antonio Express-News endorsed Cruz and O’Rourke in their respective primaries.

CD23: The San Antonio Express-News endorsed U.S. Rep. Will Hurd (R-San Antonio) and Gina Ortiz Jones (D) in their respective primaries.

CD27 open: Rep. Dennis Bonnen (R-Angleton) and Matagorda Co. Sheriff Skipper Osborne endorsed Bech Bruun for the seat being vacated by U.S. Rep. Blake Farenthold (R-Corpus Christi).

©2018 Texas Election Source LLC