SD19: Former Rep. and U.S. Rep. Pete Gallego (D-Alpine) will formally announce his candidacy for the seat currently held by Sen. Carlos Uresti (D-San Antonio) at an Eastside San Antonio eatery on Thursday. Rep. Roland Gutierrez (D-San Antonio), who has already made his formal announcement, tweeted that “another important endorsement” would be announced tomorrow (Tuesday). The seat is not up for re-election until 2020, but Uresti has been pressured by his Senate colleagues to resign following his felony criminal conviction earlier this year.

HD46 open: Planned Parenthood Texas Votes endorsed Sheryl Cole in the Democratic runoff over Chito Vela. The group did not make an endorsement before the primary.

CD7: The Harris Co. AFL-CIO Labor Assembly endorsed Laura Moser in the Democratic runoff. Former Houston Mayor Fred Hofheinz endorsed Lizzie Pannill Fletcher. The winner will face U.S. Rep. John Culberson (R-Houston).

CD27 open: Portland Mayor David Krebs, the Republican nominee for San Patricio County Judge, endorsed Bech Bruun in the Republican runoff.

Limestone Co.: County Judge Daniel Burkeen has resigned, effective May 31, and will no longer serve in a judicial capacity, effective immediately. His resignation arose from his arrest for driving while intoxicated last April and additional allegations. Burkeen lost his re-election bid when he failed to make the Republican runoff. County commissioners will be able to appoint the runoff winner as county judge.

Alvin: An 18-year-old has won a spot on the city council following a special runoff election victory. Joel Castro defeated John Burkey, 55%-45%, buoyed by a nearly 2-to-1 advantage in Election Day votes.

Voter Fraud: A Tarrant Co. woman was sentenced to five years in prison for illegally voting in the 2016 general election. Crystal Mason voted while on probation from a 2012 felony conviction related to her tax preparation business. Mason cast a provisional ballot that was not ultimately counted. At the time, she indicated she had not been convicted of a felony.

©2018 Texas Election Source LLC