Texans for Fiscal Responsibility/Empower Texans released a series of legislative primary endorsements focusing on challengers and open-seat races.

HD2: The group endorsed challenger Bryan Slaton in his rematch against Rep. Dan Flynn (R-Van). The group previously endorsed Slaton in the 2016 primary and contributed more than $65K to his campaign, which comprised more than one third of his total campaign contributions.

HD8 open: The group endorsed Thomas McNutt. The group previously endorsed him in his 2016 primary against Rep. Byron Cook (R-Corsicana) and contributed $149K to his campaign.

HD15 open: The group endorsed former Rep. Steve Toth (R-The Woodlands) in the race to succeed Rep. Matt Keough (R-The Woodlands), who is running for county office. The group previously endorsed Toth for his successful 2012 primary challenge against former Rep. Rob Eissler (R-The Woodlands) and for his unsuccessful 2014 special election race for SD4. The group contributed $25K to Toth’s campaign in June.

HD23: The group endorsed challenger Mayes Middleton in his primary against Rep. Wayne Faircloth (R-Dickinson). Middleton is a board member of the Empower Texans Foundation.

HD47: The group endorsed challenger Jay Wiley in his rematch against Rep. Paul Workman (R-Austin). The group previously endorsed Wiley in 2016 and contributed $37K to his campaign.

HD87: The group endorsed challenger Drew Brassfield in his primary against Rep. Four Price (R-Amarillo).

HD88: The group endorsed challenger Jason Huddleston in his primary against Rep. Ken King (R-Canadian).

HD98: The group endorsed challenger Armin Mizani in his primary against Rep. Giovanni Capriglione (R-Keller). The group previously endorsed Mizani in his successful 2015 race for Keller city council.

HD106 open: The group endorsed Jared Patterson in the race to succeed Rep. Pat Fallon (R-Frisco), who is running for SD31. The group previously endorsed Patterson in his 2014 primary race against Rep. Angie Chen Button (R-Garland).

HD113 open: The group endorsed Jonathan Boos for the seat being vacated by Rep. Cindy Burkett (R-Sunnyvale), who is running for SD2. The group previously endorsed Boos in 2016 and contributed $30K to his campaign.

The group also endorsed several judicial candidates. Last month, the group endorsed four statewide elected officials, five senators and members of the House Freedom Caucus in their respective re-election races. The group’s endorsements for the 2018 Republican primary can be found here.

In 2016, 41% of the group’s endorsed candidates won contested Republican primaries or runoffs, including four legislative challengers and six open-seat candidates.

©2017 Texas Election Source LLC