The 87th Regular Session of the Texas Legislature convenes tomorrow (Tuesday) at noon.

HD68 special: Early voting began today (Monday) for the January 23 special election to fill the unexpired House term of Sen. Drew Springer (R-Muenster).

Redistricting: A Dept. of Justice attorney told U.S. District Judge Lucy Koh that the first set of 2020 Census data would not be released until March 6 – more than two months after the statutory December 31 deadline. These counts are used to apportion the U.S. House of Representatives among the states. Detailed data used for redistricting are likely also further delayed, increasing chances that redistricting will not be completed by the end of the regular session.

Democratic Caucus: The House Democratic Caucus re-elected Rep. Chris Turner (D-Grand Prairie) as chair. Rep. Toni Rose (D-Dallas) was elected vice chair. She served as second vice chair for the previous legislative session. Rep. Oscar Longoria (D-Mission) was elected second vice chair and Rep. Lina Ortega (D-El Paso) was elected treasurer.

Denton: Council members Jesse Davis and John Ryan announced they would seek re-election.

Fort Worth: Council member and physician Brian Byrd announced he would run for mayor. Incumbent Mayor Betsy Price is not seeking re-election. Council member Dennis Shingleton announced he would not seek re-election. He was first elected in 2011. Distilling company owner Leonard Firestone announced he would seek the seat.

Absentee Voting: Without comment or dissent, the U.S. Supreme Court declined to hear the Texas Democratic Party’s lawsuit seeking universal absentee voting eligibility.

Electoral College: Without comment or dissent, the U.S. Supreme Court declined to fast-track a series of Trump-related challenges to the election results.

©2021 Texas Election Source LLC