CD16: El Paso resident John Carrillo formed a campaign committee for a potential race to seek the Democratic nomination for the seat being vacated by U.S. Rep. Beto O’Rourke (D-El Paso). Meanwhile, former El Paso ISD trustee Dori Fenenbock is holding a “Making It Official” event Saturday, at which she is expected to kick off her campaign for the seat. Other candidates in the race include El Paso County Judge Veronica Escobar, El Paso immigration attorney Enrique Garcia and Houston educator and El Paso native Nicole Leclair.

Lubbock Co.: Slaton businessman Jason Corley announced he would run for county commissioner P2. Three-term incumbent Mark Heinrich is expected to seek re-election. Corley unsuccessfully sought the Republican nomination for the open CD19 seat in 2016, receiving less than 2% of the vote.

˙©2017 Texas Election Source LLC