Filing for a place on the 2018 continues until 6 p.m. local time on December 11. Please see our Crib Sheets for candidates’ filing status.

SD8 open: Concerned Women for America’s Legislative Action Committee and the Collin Co. Deputies Assoc. endorsed Angela Paxton.

HD132: Katy author and marketing manager Gina Calanni established a campaign committee for a potential challenge of Rep. Mike Schofield (R-Katy) as a Democrat.

Randy Bates


Rep. Jarvis Johnson

Rep. Jarvis Johnson

HD139: Houston law professor Randy Bates Jr. filed to challenge Rep. Jarvis Johnson (D-Houston) in the Democratic primary. Bates finished third in the 2016 Democratic primary for what was then an open seat (25%) and backed out of a later special election for the unexpired term. He enters the race with more cash on hand, at least as of June 30, than the incumbent.

HD147: Houston resident Daniel Espinoza filed to challenge Rep. Garnet Coleman (D-Houston) in the Democratic primary.

SEN: Austin retired accountant Mary Miller established a campaign committee and a GoFundMe page for a potential primary challenge of U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz (R). She has received $10 toward her $10M goal for her campaign.

CD4: Sulphur Springs pastor, surveyor and Tea Party activist John Cooper filed to challenge U.S. Rep. John Ratcliffe (R-Rockwall) in the Republican primary. Cooper unsuccessfully challenged former U.S. Rep. Ralph Hall (R-Rockwall) in the 2010 Republican primary, finishing third out of six candidates (5%). He appears to have started a campaign for another run in 2012 but did not appear on the ballot.

CD29: Houston business owner Pedro Valencia established a campaign committee for a potential run for the seat being vacated by U.S. Rep. Gene Green (D-Houston) as a Democrat.

Bexar Co.: County Judge Nelson Wolff (D) and Co. Comm. Paul Elizondo (D) filed for re-election, and both said they are seeking their final terms in office. Wolff is seeking a fifth term, Elizondo his 10th. District Attorney Nico LaHood (D) also filed for re-election.

©2017 Texas Election Source LLC