Filing for a place on the 2018 ballot began Saturday and continues until 6 p.m. local time on December 11. In general, we will not list individual filings here unless they represent the first formal action taken by a candidate. Please see our Crib Sheets for current filing status.

Grady Yarbrough


GOV: Retired San Antonio educator Grady Yarbrough, the 2016 Democratic nominee for Railroad Commission, filed for governor. Yarbrough won the primary runoff over Cody Garrett after finishing first in a three-way primary that eliminated former Rep. Lon Burnam (D-Fort Worth). Yarbrough lost the 2012 Democratic primary runoff for U.S. Senate to former Rep. Paul Sadler (R-Henderson), 63%-37%, and lost the 1994 Democratic primary for state treasurer to incumbent Martha Whitehead, 66%-34%. Yarbrough also unsuccessfully sought the Republican nominations for land commissioner in 1986 and 1990, losing both in runoffs (36% and 33%, respectively).

Meanwhile, Dallas financial analyst Adrian Ocegueda established a campaign committee for a potential challenge of Gov. Greg Abbott (R) as a Democrat. Also, Abbott filed for re-election on Saturday,

SD8 open: Dallas Co. Republican Chair Phillip Huffines announced he would resign as of the party’s November 20 executive meeting. Huffines is seeking the seat being vacated by Sen. Van Taylor (R-Plano).

HD4: Seven Points pastor Eston Williams announced he would challenge Rep. Lance Gooden (R-Terrell) as a Democrat.

HD45 open: Cypress Mill resident Amber Elissa Pearce established a campaign committee for a potential run for the seat being vacated by Rep. Jason Isaac (R-Dripping Springs). We were unable to determine her occupation or partisan affiliation definitively.

HD126 open: Spring auto dealer Sam Harless, husband of former Rep. Patricia Harless (R-Spring), established a campaign committee to seek the seat being vacated by Rep. Kevin Roberts (R-Houston) as a Republican. We previously reported that Harless announced his candidacy.

HD136: Austin businessman and Williamson Co. Democratic Party Chair John Bucy re-established his campaign committee for a potential challenge of Rep. Tony Dale (R-Cedar Park) as a Democrat. Bucy lost the 2014 general election to Dale, 54%-41%.

State Race TBD: Lufkin resident LaShawn Finley established a campaign committee for a potential state race but did not indicate an office sought. Social media activity suggests she will run as a Democrat. Lufkin is located in SD3, represented by Sen. Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville); HD57, represented by Rep. Trent Ashby (R-Lufkin); and ED9, represented by member Keven Ellis (R-Lufkin). Nichols and Ashby are up for re-election in 2018. Ellis is not for re-election until 2020.

SEN: Former LaMarque Mayor Geraldine Sam filed to challenge U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz (R) in the primary. Sam went to the 2016 Republican National Convention as a Cruz delegate but switched to Donald Trump. Sam was elected the first African-American mayor of La Marque in 2009 but was recalled in 2011 by a 66%-34% vote.

©2017 Texas Election Source LLC