Registration Deadline: Thursday, May 11 is the deadline to register to vote for any runoff election being held June 10.

Rep. Ron Simmons

Rep. Ron

Single-punch Elimination: House Bill 25 by Rep. Ron Simmons (R-Carrollton) will be heard in the Senate Business & Commerce Committee on Tuesday, at a hearing scheduled to begin at 8 a.m. The bill would eliminate the ability to vote for all candidates of a political party using a single punch, mark or other action. Its companion bill, Senate Bill 2175 by Sen. Kelly Hancock (R-North Richland Hills), has not received a hearing from the Senate State Affairs Committee since its March 29 referral. Hancock is the chair of the Business & Commerce Committee.

On Monday, the Senate State Affairs Committee heard and left pending Senate Bill 1989 by Sen. Donna Campbell (R-New Braunfels), which would remove judicial offices from single-punch straight-party voting.

Note: Jeff Blaylock, publisher of Texas Election Source, is on record as being in favor of House Bill 25.

CD32: Former San Antonio Mayor and U.S. Dept. of Housing and Urban Development Secretary Julián Castro endorsed Colin Allred, one of the Democrats challenging U.S. Rep. Pete Sessions (R-Dallas). Allred worked with Castro at HUD.

Abilene: Mayoral candidate Robert Briley declined the Abilene Reporter-News and KTXS-TV’s invitation to debate his opponent prior to the June 10 runoff. Briley finished 234 votes behind Anthony Williams in the May 6 election.

Empower Texans’ Endorsements: Three of the 30 local candidates endorsed by Texans for Fiscal Responsibility/Empower Texans won their races for municipal office or school trustee on Saturday, and another 10 advanced to runoffs.

George Dodson, Colleyville council (51%)
Robert John Smith, Garland council (58%)
Kathy Wheat, Colleyville council (54%)

Derek Baker, McKinney council (24%)
Rick Barnes, Keller mayor (49%)
Justin Bell, Denton ISD (37%)
Donald Duff, Denton council (43%)
Kevin Falconer, Carrollton mayor (46%)
Dustin Marshall, Dallas ISD (47%)
Dustin Pearson, McKinney council (42%)
Angela Powell, Plano ISD (33%)
Anthony Ricciardeli, Plano council (46%)
Rick Smith, Plano council (49%)

Ed Acklin, Plano council (48%)
Johnny Arredondo, San Antonio council (14%)
Lily Bao, Plano mayor (42%)
David Denman, Aledo ISD (42%)
Naomi Emmett, Allen mayor (26%)
Candy Evans, Dallas council (37%)
Pablo Frias, Arlington council (15%)
Ron Hansen, Coppell ISD (48%)
Cory Huddleston, Grapevine council (30%)
Cynthia Northrup, Carrollton council (39%)
Bryan Powell, Frisco ISD (26%)
Nic Rady, Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD (18%)
Curtis Rath, McKinney ISD (45%)
Nathan Rylander, Plano ISD (37%)
Jeff Snowden, Frisco ISD (34%)
Linus Spiller, Dallas council (5%)
Patrick Von Dohlen, San Antonio council (19%)

The group has been making endorsements in local races since 2014. Coming into this year, 37% of its endorsed candidates have won. This was the first year the group has endorsed local candidates outside of the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex.

©2017 Texas Election Source LLC