CD11: Llano rancher and former State Democratic Executive Committee member Jennie Lou Leeder has established a federal campaign committee for a potential challenge of U.S. Rep. Mike Conaway (R-Midland) as a Democrat. In 2016, she ran unsuccessfully for the open SD24 seat, losing to Dawn Buckingham (R-Lake Travis), 72%-28%, in the general election.

CD33: Irving resident and Republican precinct chair Emmanuel Lewis has set up a CrowdPAC fundraising page for a potential challenge of U.S. Rep. Marc Veasey (D-Fort Worth). Lewis ran unsuccessfully for Irving council P7 in 2016 (25%) and Dallas Co. Clerk in 2014 (46%).

See our 2018 Challengers page for all 171 challengers and open seat candidates who we confirm have taken a formal step toward running for state and federal office from Texas in 2018.

San Angelo: Early voting begins tomorrow for the D6 council runoff election between Steve Hampton and Billie DeWitt. Charlotte Farmer did not seek re-election and instead ran unsuccessfully for mayor. Election Day is July 8.