HD18: Huntsville software consultant Garrett Cradduck established a campaign committee for a potential challenge of Rep. Ernest Bailes (R-Shepherd). Social media activity indicates he may be running as a Tea Party Republican or a Libertarian. However, Cradduck is a former national committeeman for the Constitution Party of Texas and, as recently as May, liked one of the party’s Facebook posts. The Constitution Party does not have guaranteed access to the general election ballot in Texas. Meanwhile, 2016 candidate Wes Hinch confirmed that his recent campaign committee filing was purely administrative.

HD106: Frisco custom golf cart business owner and CoServ electric cooperative board member Clint Bedsole confirmed he would seek the seat if Rep. Pat Fallon (R-Frisco) challenges Sen. Craig Estes (R-Wichita Falls) in the Republican primary. We previously reported that Bedsole had formed a campaign committee for the seat.

ED11: Dallas resident Carla Morton established a campaign committee for a potential challenge of board member Pat Hardy (R-Fort Worth). Her profession and political affiliation could not be conclusively determined.

CD7: Houston medical center development director Joshua Butler updated his statement of candidacy to run as an independent. He previously indicated he would run as a Democrat.

See our 2018 Challengers page for all 207 challengers and open-seat candidates who we confirm have taken a formal step toward running for state and federal office from Texas in 2018.

Coryell Co.: County Judge John Firth announced he would not seek re-election. Firth was appointed to the position in 2007 and was unopposed for re-election in 2010 and 2014.

Edinburg: Mayor Richard Garcia filed for re-election. He is seeking a fourth term. He is expected to be challenged by council member Richard Molina and Gina Alamia, daughter of former Mayor Richard Alamia.

Houston: The Texas Supreme Court denied a plaintiffs’ motion to expedite their case challenging the validity of a term limits ordinance approved by Houston voters in 2015, making it highly unlikely that an election could be ordered this year. The lawsuit contends that the proposition confused voters into expanding terms to four years from two years and loosening term limits for some council members. Mayor Sylvester Turner and all members of the council are not for re-election until 2019.

©2017 Texas Election Source LLC