AGRIC: The Texas State Rifle Assoc., Texas Exotic Wildlife Assoc. and Texas Thoroughbred Assoc. endorsed Comm. Sid Miller, according to the campaign.  The Texas Retailers Assoc. PAC endorsed challenger Trey Blocker.

HD98: In an unusual move, political consultant Luke Macias published a video to his firm’s Facebook page apologizing for helping elect Rep. Giovanni Capriglione (R-Southlake) in 2012. According to campaign finance reports, Capriglione’s campaign made six payments to Macias Strategies totaling $21K between October 2011 and December 2012. It made two additional payments totaling $3K during the 2013 legislative session. Macias is a campaign consultant for Capriglione’s challenger Armin Mizani.

U.S. Rep. Beto O'Rourke

U.S. Rep. Beto O’Rourke

U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz

U.S. Sen. Ted

SEN: The campaign of U.S. Rep. Beto O’Rourke (D-El Paso) said he raised $2.4M during the quarter, and he will report having $4.6M on hand. For the year, O’Rourke has raised more than $6.6M, which is more than the last four Democratic nominees for U.S. Senate raised, from individuals other than themselves, combined (David Alameel provided $4.4M of his $4.5M in contributions.). U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz (R) is expected to report $1.9M in contributions for the quarter and $7.3M on hand. It would be the second straight quarter than O’Rourke as out-raised Cruz. Meanwhile, Rep. Joe Moody (D-El Paso) was named statewide political director for the O’Rourke campaign.

CD3 open: The Dallas Morning News endorsed Sen. Van Taylor (R-Plano) in the Republican primary for the seat being vacated by U.S. Rep. Sam Johnson (R-Plano).

CD4: The Dallas Morning News endorsed U.S. Rep. John Ratcliffe (R-Rockwall) in the Republican primary.

CD24: The Dallas Morning News endorsed U.S. Rep. Kenny Marchant (R-Carrollton) in the Republican primary.

CD26: The Dallas Morning News endorsed U.S. Rep. Michael Burgess (R-Lewisville) in the Republican primary.

Midland Co.: The commissioners court appointed Lex Archuleta to succeed former District Clerk Ross Bush, who resigned. Bush was the only candidate to file in either party’s primary for the seat, and his name will remain on the ballot. Section 145.036(b)(2) and (e), Election Code, authorizes the county executive committee, once it has been elected, to select a replacement nominee, assuming Bush withdraws before August 24. A write-in candidacy is also an option.

Willacy Co.: The commissioners court appointed Susan Garza to succeed retiring County Clerk Terry Flores. Garza is one of three Democrats vying for a full term in the primary. No Republican filed for the race.

McAllen: A March 3 runoff has been set to fill an unexpired council term. Javier Villalobos (37%) and Timothy Wilkins (35%) were the top two candidates in the January 20 special election. Early voting begins February 14 and overlaps with most of the early voting period for the March 6 primary.

©2018 Texas Election Source LLC