HD46: The Central Texas Democratic Forum held a candidates’ forum today (Tuesday) attended by four Democrats actively seeking the seat. Former Austin council member Sheryl Cole, software engineer Greg Harrington, tech executive Nnamdi Orakwue and attorney Chito Vela took turns answering questions before two to three dozen attendees.

Rep. Dawnna Dukes (D-Austin) tweeted that the forum was “interesting news” and she was unaware that it was going to take place. “Quite odd during session to hold forum,” she tweeted in reply to the Texas Tribune’s Alexandra Samuels, who was covering the forum. Samuels tweeted that an event organizer extended invitations to Dukes to multiple email addresses.

Dukes was indicted last week by a Travis Co. grand jury on two misdemeanor counts of abuse of office and 13 felony counts of tampering with governmental records. She has indicated she would plead not guilty. Dukes previously announced plans to resign when the legislative session began but now intends to serve the term to which she was elected in November.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.