HD47: Austin real estate agent Vikki Goodwin has filed a campaign treasurer appointment to challenge Rep. Paul Workman (R-Austin). Her partisan affiliation is not clear.

Plano: Empower Texans highlighted a meeting hosted by the Plano Citizens’ Council that featured a “slate of challengers” running for the Plano council and Plano ISD trustee. The candidates focused on their opposition to the city’s “Plano Tomorrow” development plan and pledged to “Keep Plano Suburban” if elected. The city candidates are Ed Acklin (P4), Lily Bao (mayor), Anthony Ricciardelli (P2) and Rick Smith (P8). The trustee candidates are Greg Myer and Nathan Rylander.

Bao faces incumbent Mayor Harry LaRosiliere, landscape business owner Bill Lisle III and Douglas Reeves, who unsuccessfully sought the Republican nomination for Collin Co. Justice of the Peace in 2010. Smith faces incumbent council member David Downs and sales director Stirling Morris. Places 2 and 4 are open seats because the incumbents are term-limited. Ricciardelli faces attorney Ann Bacchus and financial advisor Al Valente. Acklin faces marketing manager Kayci Prince.

In 2015, Empower Texans endorsed two victorious candidates for the Plano council: Tom Harrison and Ron Kelley. They were the lone votes against the “Plano Tomorrow” plan on the council, according to the group.

A Plano Citizens PAC was established earlier this month, and its treasurer is listed as Patricia Greer of Plano. It is unclear if it is related to the Plano Citizens’ Council. The council’s Facebook page indicates it may have formed in spring 2016. No information about its leadership is provided on its Facebook page.

San Antonio: Three of the 14 candidates for mayor were invited to participate in a debate on affordable housing hosted by the Alamo Community Group: Bexar Co. Democratic Party chair Manuel Medina, council member Ron Nirenberg and incumbent Mayor Ivy Taylor.

©2017 Texas Election Source LLC