RRC: Comm. Christi Craddick was elected chair of the Railroad Commission of Texas by her peers, Comm. Ryan Sitton and outgoing Comm. David Porter, for a two-year term. By tradition, the gavel rotates among the sitting commissioners. First elected in 2012, she is up for re-election in 2018. Porter, who did not seek re-election, will be succeeded by former Rep. Wayne Christian (R-Center) in January.

HD46 special: Four candidates have filed campaign treasurer appointments with the Texas Ethics Commission:

  • Attorney and former Austin council member Sheryl Cole
  • Medical management consultant and Manor ISD trustee Ana Cortez
  • Austin software executive Nnamdi Orakwue; and
  • Austin attorney Chito Vela.

Republican Gabe Nila, who received 19% of the vote in the general election, has already announced for the race. Travis Co. Democratic Party chair Vincent Harding, two-time Libertarian nominee Kevin Ludlow, and Austin criminal defense attorney Adam Reposa (Green Party’s 2016 nominee for CCA2) are potential candidates (Reposa’s new Twitter handle is labeled “Adam Reposa, D46”.). Austin political consultant Joe Deshotel, son of Rep. Joe Deshotel (D-Beaumont), is not expected to run.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.