House Speaker: The House Freedom Caucus wrote to Rep. Tan Parker (R-Flower Mound), chair of the Texas House Republican Caucus, asking him to call a meeting “for the sole purpose of discussing and/or adopting a procedure to determine our nominee for Speaker of the House” for the 2019 legislative session. The House adopts a resolution shortly after it convenes to establish the process for nominating candidates and electing its presiding officer. The Freedom Caucus’s letter indicates it wants the Republican members to nominate a single candidate that has “the confidence of a majority of his or her fellow Republicans.” Speaker Joe Straus (R-San Antonio) was unanimously elected to the post for a fifth term in January.

HD41: Rep. Bobby Guerra (D-McAllen) announced he would seek re-election.

To access this post you need a TX Elects Subscription.


FOR JUST $19.99 A MONTH OR $199.99 A YEAR