Election Day: Tomorrow (Tuesday) is Election Day in SD6 and several local jurisdictions holding special and runoff elections. We’ll have live coverage beginning at 7 p.m. CST at https://txelects.wpengine.com/live/. Races we’ll be following include:

  • SD6 special election, where four candidates, including Reps. Carol Alvarado (D-Houston) and Ana Hernandez (D-Houston), are vying to succeed former Sen. and current U.S. Rep.-elect Sylvia Garcia (D-Houston)
  • Austin council runoffs for D1, D3 and open D8
  • Copperas Cove mayor, where incumbent Frank Seffrood faces Azeita Taylor
  • Dallas council seat P4 special runoff, pitting former council member Carolyn King Arnold against Keyaira Saunders

CD7: Houston resident Christopher Rashaud Sandles established a federal campaign committee for a potential primary challenge of U.S. Rep.-elect Lizzie Pannil Fletcher (D-Houston).

Laredo: Early voting has ended for the December 13 – yes, on Thursday – runoff election for mayor and council seats D2, D3 and D6.

Missouri City: Longtime Mayor Allen Owen lost Saturday’s runoff election to challenger Yolanda Ford, 52%-48%. Ford, who had served on the council since 2013, becomes the first woman and first African-American elected mayor there. Incumbent council member Chris Preston prevailed over Susan Soto, 64%-36%.

©2018 Texas Election Source LLC