Tomorrow (Tuesday) is Election Day across the state. For those who have not yet voted, the League of Women Voters has created a Constitutional Amendment Election Voters Guide which explains each amendment, provides arguments for and against each and a short video about each. For communities with a local League, the website gives voters the opportunity to view local races and create a personalized ballot they can print to take to the polls.

We will have live results and analysis beginning at 7 p.m. CST at and continuing through the evening. We’ll be focusing on:

  • 10 constitutional amendments
  • HD28, HD100 and HD148 special elections
  • Houston mayoral and council elections
  • Mayoral races in Bryan, College Station, Mesquite, Midland and Weslaco; and
  • El Paso council special election

We will also report on other local races through the evening. If there is a particular race of interest to you, please let us know by emailing us at [email protected].

Voters have rejected only five constitutional amendments in odd-numbered years since 2001 while approving 107 others (96% success rate). Since 1979, voters have approved 258 constitutional amendments and rejected 38 (87% success rate). Voters last voted down a constitutional amendment in 2011, when three were rejected.

Meanwhile, the 2020 general election is exactly one year away. Filing for offices on that ballot begins Saturday.

HD87: Gov. Greg Abbott (R) endorsed Rep. Four Price (R-Amarillo) for re-election.

HD106: Frisco financial advisor James Trombley, who had been campaigning to challenge Rep. Lynn Stucky (R-Sanger) in the Republican primary, announced that he has “decided to re-focus our efforts” on a primary challenge of Rep. Jared Patterson (R-Frisco).

SEN: A new Univ. of Texas/Texas Tribune poll finds that no Democratic candidate has a statewide name identification north of 24%, and accordingly 63% of registered voters who said they were Democrats are either undecided (57%) or voting for “someone else” (6%). M.J. Hegar is the only candidate to receive double-digit support (12%) with the rest of the field within the poll’s margin of error of each other: Sema Hernandez (6%), Sen. Royce West (5%), Amanda Edwards (4%), Cristina Tzintzún Ramirez (4%), former U.S. Rep. Chris Bell (3%), Jack Daniel Foster Jr. (2%), Adrian Ocegueda (1%) and Michael Cooper (1%).

Bell (24%) had the highest name identification, followed by West (21%), Hegar (20%) and Edwards (16%).

©2019 Texas Election Source LLC