SD14 special: Sarah Eckhardt’s resignation as Travis County Judge to be a candidate for the seat vacated by former Sen. Kirk Watson (D-Austin) took effect today (Tuesday). Former County Judge Sam Biscoe was sworn into office and will be the interim county judge until a November special election determines who will serve out the remainder of her unexpired term. Eckhardt resigned when she announced her candidacy for the Senate as required by the Texas Constitution’s resign-to-run provision. She later said she would stay on the job to lead the county’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Meanwhile, the campaign of Rep. Eddie Rodriguez (D-Austin) announced he has raised more than $500K since January 1, which would mean he has raised just over $400K since his 8-day-out report before the Democratic primary.

Austin public policy analyst Adryana Aldeen announced she would not seek the seat vacated by former Sen. Kirk Watson (D-Austin). The filing deadline is tomorrow (Wednesday). It would have been her second run for a House seat. As Adryana Boyne, she unsuccessfully challenged then-Rep. Stefani Carter (R-Dallas) in the Republican primary for HD102, receiving 5% of the vote.

EMILY’s List: EMILY’s List announced its first general election endorsements, including Reps. Rhetta Bowers (D-Rowlett), Gina Calanni (D-Katy), Vikki Goodwin (D-Austin), Terry Meza (D-Irving) and Erin Zwiener (D-Driftwood). The group endorsed Democratic challengers Lydia Bean (HD93-Krause), Elizabeth Beck (HD97-Goldman), Angela Brewer (HD64-Stucky), Brandy Chambers (HD112-Button), Sharon Hirsch (HD66-Shaheen) Natali Hurtado (HD126-Harless) and Eliz Markowitz (HD28-Gates).

©2020 Texas Election Source LLC