HD68 special: An abbreviated early voting period began today (Tuesday) for the February 23 special runoff election to fill the unexpired House term of Sen. Drew Springer (R-Muenster), but winter weather closures appeared to keep many polling locations open for limited hours or closed entirely. Several counties have announced polls will remain closed tomorrow (Wednesday). Early voting ends Friday.

Jacksboro ISD trustee David Spiller (R) faces Nocona boot manufacturer Craig Carter (R). Spiller finished first in the January 23 special election with 44% of the vote. Carter finished second with 18% of the vote, narrowly edging out two other candidates.

The candidates’ runoff campaign finance reports were due today. These reports will disclose contributions received and expenditures made between January 14 and February 13. Carter raised $8K and spent $116K. He has $41K on hand. Spiller’s report was not yet available.

CD6 open: Waxahachie songwriter and 2018 Democratic nominee Jana Lynne Sanchez announced she would run in the special election to succeed the late U.S. Rep. Ron Wright (R-Arlington). She lost to Wright, 53%-45%, in the 2018 general election.

Mansfield entrepreneur John Anthony Castro (R) has announced his candidacy. Dallas writer/producer Monty Markland and Austin/Seattle entrepreneur Asa Palagi have filed statements of candidacy as Republicans. Castro formed a campaign committee to run for U.S. Senate in 2020 but did not file for a place on the ballot. Palagi ran for governor of Washington in 2020 as an independent. No date has been set for the special election.

2022 Crib Sheets: Our Crib Sheets for the 2022 election cycle are up on our site. So far, we are tracking around 300 candidates for Congress, statewide office and the legislature. Archived Crib Sheets for 2020, 2018, 2016 and 2014 are also available.

©2021 Texas Election Source LLC