Early voting begins tomorrow (Monday) for the May 7 general, special and constitutional amendment elections. In a rarity for a May general election, all registered voters across the state will be able to cast ballots.

Most municipalities and other local governments in Texas have races on the ballot, although municipalities may cancel elections in cases where no position is contested. Voters will choose mayors in dozens of Texas municipalities including Denton, Galveston, Harlingen, Lubbock, Port Arthur, Victoria and Waco.

A special election in HD147 (Safe D) will fill the unexpired terms of former Rep. Garnet Coleman (D-Houston) in those precincts that have been part of the district as it has been configured for the 2020 election cycle.

Constitutional amendments appear on the ballot for an even-year May election for the first time in state history. The last time a constitutional amendment went before the voters in a May election was in 2007. It passed with a statewide turnout of around 6%. May has otherwise been unkind to proposed constitutional amendments. Of the other 10 presented to voters in May, only two have passed: authorizing water bonds in 1971 and establishing Prohibition in 1919.

HD19 open (Safe R): Nubia Devine, who finished third in the Republican primary with 22% of the vote, endorsed Ellen Troxclair in the runoff over Justin Berry.

Democratic Caucus: Rep. Chris Turner (D-Grand Prairie) announced he would not seek re-election as House Democratic Caucus chair, a position he has held since 2017.

CD15 open (Toss Up): John Villarreal Rigney, who finished third in the Democratic primary with 19% of the vote, endorsed Michelle Vallejo in the runoff over Ruben Ramirez.

©2022 Texas Election Source LLC