HD125 special: Nearly 1K more people voted today (Thursday) in person, bringing the four-day total to nearly 4K. This already exceeds the early voting turnout – in person and by mail – for the February 12 special election. Early voting concludes tomorrow (Friday).

Legislature: Tomorrow (Friday) is the deadline to file non-local bills and constitutional amendments without seeking permission from the full House or Senate.

CD11: San Angelo rodeo cowboy Wacey Alpha Cody established a campaign committee for a potential primary challenge of U.S. Rep. Mike Conaway (R-Midland).

CD21: Austin educator Bruce Bintliff Boville established a campaign committee for a potential challenge of U.S. Rep. Chip Roy (R-Austin) as a Democrat.

CD28: Temple resident John Bohlin amended his campaign committee for a potential challenge of U.S. Rep. Henry Cuellar (D-Laredo) as a Republican. Temple is not located within the district. Bohlin’s campaign committee was originally established for a run for CD23, which would have meant a primary challenge of U.S. Rep. Will Hurd (R-San Antonio). Temple is not in that district, either.

Harris Co.: Following through on a campaign promise, Co. Clerk Diane Trautman announced that the Secretary of State has authorized the county’s plan to implement countywide polling places. This means that voters can choose to cast their Election Day ballots at any polling station in the county, not just in their own precinct.

Abilene: The Abilene Police Officer’s Assoc. PAC endorsed challenger Cory Clements over incumbent council member Kyle McAlister. The PAC also endorsed Travis Craver for open P6.

El Paso: Former Mayor Oscar Leeser announced he would challenge Mayor Dee Margo. Leeser served as mayor from 2013 to 2017, when he did not seek re-election for health reasons, which are now behind him.

©2019 Texas Election Source LLC