Rep. Joe Deshotel (D-Beaumont) announced he would not seek a 13th term, and Rep. Alex Dominguez (D-Brownsville) won’t seek a third term as he instead runs to succeed the retiring Sen. Eddie Lucio Jr. (D-Brownsville).

“After over half my life in some sort of public service, I need some time to myself and with those I love,” Deshotel said in a statement. “It is time to get out of the way and allow the younger generation with their energy and fire to have this honor and responsibility.”

In his statement, Deshotel recalled former Rep. Al Price’s (D-Beaumont) retirement after winning a primary election for what would have been a 12th term. Deshotel was selected by precinct chairs as a replacement nominee after Price withdrew. He has rarely been opposed since.

Dominguez was already contemplating a run for SD27 (Lean D) before Lucio announced his retirement and after new maps made HD37 (Lean D), his current district, more competitive. Dominguez entered office after taking down longtime Rep. Rene Oliveira (D-Brownsville) in a 2018 Democratic runoff, 57%-43%. He faces Lucio’s 2020 primary challenger Sara Stapleton-Barrera and may face McAllen attorney Morgan LaMantia, who is considering the race. At least two Republicans have taken a formal step toward running for the Senate seat.

Deshotel and Dominguez become the 22nd and 23rd House members elected to the 87th Legislature who have announced plans to not return for 2023.

Reps. Michelle Beckley (D-Carrollton), Phil King (R-Weatherford), Matt Krause (R-Fort Worth), Ina Minjarez (D-San Antonio), Tan Parker (R-Flower Mound), Eddie Rodriguez (D-Austin) and James White (R-Hillister) are seeking other offices. Rep. Celia Israel (D-Austin) is exploring a run for mayor. Reps. Kyle Biedermann (R-Fredericksburg), John Cyrier (R-Lockhart), John Frullo (R-Lubbock), Dan Huberty (R-Humble), Lyle Larson (R-San Antonio), Ben Leman (R-Iola), Eddie Lucio III (D-Brownsville), Jim Murphy (R-Houston), Chris Paddie (R-Marshall), Scott Sanford (R-McKinney) and John Turner (D-Dallas) are retiring. Former Rep. Jake Ellzey (R-Waxahachie) is now in Congress, and former Rep. Leo Pacheco (D-San Antonio) resigned.

Four Senators are not returning. Sen. Dawn Buckingham (R-Lakeway) is running for Land Commissioner. Lucio, Jane Nelson (R-Flower Mound) and Kel Seliger (R-Amarillo) are retiring.

One or more additional retirements seem likely at this point. Rumors are circulating that a prominent Harris Co. Democratic legislator may soon announce their retirement. For what it’s worth, Reps. Garnet Coleman (D-Houston), Harold Dutton (D-Houston) and Senfronia Thompson (D-Houston) accepted no contributions during the last few days of June. During the first two special sessions, Thompson, who has filed for re-election, raised ~$20K and Dutton raised ~$13K. Coleman raised $1K during that period.

GOV (Likely R): Beto O’Rourke’s campaign said he raised $2M during the 24 hours following his campaign announcement. O’Rourke has already out-raised 2018 Democratic nominee Lupe Valdez, who raised a total of $1.9M, for her unsuccessful challenge of Gov. Greg Abbott (R).

Former Sen. Don Huffines (R-Dallas) announced he raised $1.25M during the third special session, which the campaign said excludes loans or self-funding except for an event sponsorship.

Abbott reported a record $55M on hand as of the end of June and reported raising $4.5M during the first two special sessions.

HD37 open (Lean D): Texans for Lawsuit Reform PAC endorsed Janie Lopez (R).

HD47 (Likely D): Austin resident Robert E. McCarthy established a campaign committee for a potential challenge of Rep. Vikki Goodwin (D-Austin). We were unable to identify him conclusively.

HD63 open (Likely R): Flower Mound tech business owner and conservative activist Jeff Younger established a campaign committee for a potential run for the seat being vacated by Reps. Michelle Beckley (D-Carrollton) and Tan Parker (R-Flower Mound). He fought in court and the Legislature to prevent his son from being transitioned by his ex-wife.

Flower Mound clinical psychologist Denise Wooten established a campaign committee for the race. Past federal campaign contributions suggest she would run as a Democrat. She filed for, but withdrew from, a 2020 race for Lewisville ISD trustee.

HD84 open (Likely R): Sen. Charles Perry (R-Lubbock) endorsed Carl Tepper (R) for the seat being vacated by Rep. John Frullo (R-Lubbock).

©2021 Texas Election Source LLC