Today (Monday) was the filing deadline for most candidates seeking partisan office in 2020. At least 53 were “new” candidates for federal, state or legislative office in the sense that we were not tracking them, had not reported on them this cycle and did not have them listed on our Crib Sheets. As always, there were some surprises and unexpected decisions. We have updated our Crib Sheets to the best of our ability, but we expect there will be additional changes during the week as the final candidate rosters are prepared. We also have not seen any candidate rosters from the Libertarian and Green Parties.

Top News

HD2: Royse City financial services manager Bryan Slaton filed to challenge Rep. Dan Flynn (R-Van) in the Republican primary for the third time. Flynn defeated Slaton, 52%-48%, in the 2018 primary and 51%-49% in the 2016 primary. Flynn also drew a new general election challenger in Como consultant Bill Brannon, who filed as a Democrat.

HD30: Victoria Army veteran, Texas Medical Board member and Republican precinct chair Vanessa Hicks-Callaway filed to challenge Rep. Geanie Morrison (R-Victoria) in the Republican primary. Morrison has not faced a primary challenger since 1998, the year she was first elected to the Legislature. Among sitting legislators, only Sen. Jane Nelson (R-Flower Mound) and Reps. Tom Craddick (R-Midland), Yvonne Davis (D-Dallas) and John Smithee (R-Amarillo) have gone longer without facing primary opposition.

HD60: Rep. Mike Lang (R-Granbury) reportedly filed for Hood Co. Commissioner just before today’s deadline, canceling his re-election bid. Lang initially said he would run for county office before abruptly reversing course and choosing to run for re-election. He filed for re-election on November 20. Three Republicans – Graford rancher Glenn Rogers, Granbury attorney Kellye Sorelle and, reportedly, Mineral Wells Mayor Christopher Perricone – have already filed for the race. Lang’s late decision not to run will reopen the filing period for the seat by one week.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

©2019 Texas Election Source LLC

To access this post you need a TX Elects Subscription.


FOR JUST $19.99 A MONTH OR $199.99 A YEAR