Filing for partisan nomination or an independent candidacy for the 2022 general election concludes at 6 p.m. local time tomorrow (Monday).

As far as we can tell, all incumbent statewide officials, legislators and members of Congress who announced plans to run for re-election (or at least didn’t announce plans to the contrary) have filed except for Reps. Claudia Ordaz Perez (D-El Paso), Ana-Maria Ramos (D-Dallas) and Ron Reynolds (D-Missouri City). Ordez Perez is paired with Rep. Art Fierro (D-El Paso), who has filed for re-election.

It generally takes a couple of weeks for all the filing activity to shake out completely. County and state party chairs are not required to submit candidate information to the Secretary of State until December 21. The Secretary of State has an additional day to post certified candidate lists on its website. In rare cases for which extended deadlines are triggered, these deadlines shift a few days later. It can take longer to obtain information on independent candidates, who must file declarations of intent by tomorrow (Monday), but their actual application is not due until June 23. Write-in candidates cannot begin submitting their applications until July 23.

Our Crib Sheets will have the most updated information, but please be patient as we capture all the filings over the next week or so.

SD3 (Safe R): Montalba pastor Steve Russell re-established his campaign committee for a potential challenge of Sen. Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville). Russell lost a 2012 race for SD1 as a Democrat in 2012 (29%) and appears to have run for HD71 as a Republican in 2004, losing the primary to then-Rep. Bob Hunter (R-Abilene), 82%-18%.

HD66 (Likely R): Rep. Matt Shaheen (R-Plano) filed for re-election and drew a primary challenger in Dallas retiree Daniel Chandler.

HD67 (Likely R): Rep. Jeff Leach (R-Allen) filed for re-election and drew a primary challenger in Princeton retail advisor Julia Schmoker.

HD148 (Likely D): Houston nonprofit founder and former Harris Co. Dept. of Education board member Kay M. Smith re-established her campaign committee for a potential challenge of Rep. Penny Morales Shaw (D-Houston) as a Republican. Smith resigned from the board to unsuccessfully seek the Republican nomination in 2016 for what was then open HD130, losing to Tom Oliverson, 70%-30%. She lost the 2020 Republican primary for a seat on the board.

CD23 (Lean R): Alpine university ombudsman Priscilla Golden established a campaign committee for a potential challenge of U.S. Rep. Tony Gonzales (R-San Antonio) as a Democrat.

©2021 Texas Election Source LLC