The filing deadline for a spot on the 2018 primary ballot has passed, but the candidate rosters are not yet finalized. The parties have until December 19 to submit their final certified candidate lists to the Secretary of State.


We corrected three mistakes in our Crib Sheets:

  • HD36: We had shown Abraham Padron as having filed in the HD36 Democratic primary, but we have since been unable to confirm that information. We have changed his status to “not filed” pending the finalization of candidate rosters by the Hidalgo Co. and state Democratic Parties. This change also means that Rep. Sergio Muñoz Jr. (D-Palmview) has been moved off the list of incumbents with primary opponents.
  • HD126: We accidentally had Kevin Fulton listed under HD125 in our Crib Sheets. He is running for HD126.
  • CD6 open: A typo resulted in Thomas Dillingham being inadvertently left out of the group of the Republican candidates in the race.

We apologize for the errors.


Today was the deadline for a candidate who filed in a primary to withdraw. As with the filing deadline, we may not know every candidate who withdrew until next week. Two significant withdrawals were reported today:

  • HD4 open: Marty Reid (R), leaving a three- or four-person primary depending on which race the twice filed Earl Brunner chooses
  • ED12 open: Linda Parsel (D), leaving a three-person primary for the seat being vacated by board member Tincy Miller (R-Dallas).

From this point on, even if a candidate dies or withdraws, his or her name will remain on the primary ballot, pursuant to Section 172.057, Election Code.

Additional Filings Reported

The candidates listed below filed by Monday’s deadline, but those filings were not reported by the local or state parties until today:

  • SEN: Sema Hernandez (D), making a three-way primary to produce a challenger for U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz (R)
  • HD6: Yolanda Prince (D) and Neal Katz (I) filed to challenge Rep. Matt Schaefer (R-Tyler)
  • HD47: Patty Vredevelt (R), giving Rep. Paul Workman (R-Austin) two primary challengers
  • HD49: Kyle Austin (R), giving Rep. Gina Hinojosa (D-Austin) a general election challenger
  • HD71: Sam Hatton (D) filed to challenge Rep. Stan Lambert (R-Abilene)
  • HD107: Joe Ruzicka (R), making a three-way primary to produce a challenger for Rep. Victoria Neave (D-Dallas)
  • HD113: Sunnyvale Mayor Jim Phaup (R), making a three-way primary to determine a Republican nominee for the seat being vacated by Rep. Cindy Burkett (R-Sunnyvale)
  • HD123: San Antonio resident Robert Escobedo (D), which places Rep. Diego Bernal (D-San Antonio) on the list of incumbents with primary challengers.
  • HD124: San Antonio accountant and 2016 primary challenger Sergio Contreras (D), which places Rep. Ina Minjarez (D-San Antonio) on the list of incumbents with primary challengers.
  • HD131: Syed Ali (R), creating a contested primary to produce a challenger for Rep. Alma Allen (D-Houston).

We expect to see a few more filings emerge this week (including most or all of the Green Party’s candidates and some independent candidates).

New Info on Filed Candidates

We learned a couple of things of interest about some of the candidates we’ve been tracking:

  • AGRIC: The Jim Hogan who filed in the Republican primary is indeed the Jim Hogan who was the Democratic nominee for the office in 2014.
  • HD16: Former Republican candidate Christian Ehmling announced he would run as a write-in candidate against Rep. Will Metcalf (R-Conroe).
  • HD109 open: Former Republican candidate Casey Littlejohn told us he will file as a write-in candidate.

We expect that several other candidates who failed, for whatever reason, to qualify for their party’s primary to seek a write-in candidacy.

Incumbents with Primary Challengers

The number in parentheses indicates the incumbent has multiple primary challengers, which could result in a runoff.

  • Statewide: Greg Abbott (2), Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick, Land Comm. George P. Bush (3), Agriculture Comm. Sid Miller (2), Railroad Comm. Christi Craddick and Court of Criminal Appeals Presiding Judge Sharon Keller
  • Senate: Donna Campbell, Craig Estes (2), Bob Hall, Joan Huffman, Charles Schwertner, Kel Seliger (2) and John Whitmire (2)
  • House Republicans: Rodney Anderson, Ernest Bailes, Kyle Biedermann, Dennis Bonnen, Giovanni Capriglione, Travis Clardy, Scott Cosper (2), Sarah Davis, Wayne Faircloth, Dan Flynn, Charlie Geren, Dan Huberty, Ken King (2), Linda Koop (2), Mike Lang (2), Lyle Larson, Chris Paddie, John Raney (3), Matt Schaefer, Four Price, J.D. Sheffield, Hugh Shine (2), Ron Simmons, Lynn Stucky, Valoree Swanson, Jason Villalba and Paul Workman
  • House Democrats: Roberto Alonzo, Diana Arévalo, Diego Bernal, Garnet Coleman, Philip Cortez, Dawnna Dukes (5), Harold Dutton, Mary González, Bobby Guerra, Ryan Guillen, Eric Johnson, Jarvis Johnson, Ina Minjarez, Rene Oliveira (2), Ron Reynolds, Shawn Thierry (2), Tomas Uresti and Armando Walle
  • Board of Education: Lawrence Allen Jr., Ruben Cortez Jr., Pat Hardy and Marisa Perez-Diaz
  • Congressional Republicans: Michael Burgess, John Carter, Mike Conaway, Ted Cruz (4), John Culberson, Blake Farenthold (6), Louie Gohmert (2), Will Hurd, Kenny Marchant, Michael McCaul, Pete Olson (3), John Ratcliffe, Pete Sessions and Randy Weber (2)
  • Congressional Democrats: Eddie Bernice Johnson (2), Sheila Jackson Lee and Marc Veasey.

This list may change before the parties finalize their candidate rosters.

Incumbents with No Known Opposition

Based on what we know today, these incumbents have no filed or announced opponents. We have received a fairly complete set of candidates from the Libertarian Party. The list we have from the Green Party is not current or complete, so some of these incumbents may yet have partisan opponents. We also have not received a list of independent candidates from the Secretary of State, and write-in candidates have a later deadline.

  • Statewide: None
  • Senate: Royce West
  • House Republicans: Briscoe Cain, Jay Dean, James Frank, Todd Hunter, Phil King, Drew Springer, Gary VanDeaver
  • House Democrats: Cesar Blanco, Terry Canales, Yvonne Davis, Joe Deshotel, Roland Gutierrez, Ana Hernandez, Donna Howard, Celia Israel, Eddie Lucio III, Mando Martinez, Poncho Nevarez, Joe Pickett, Eddie Rodriguez, Ramon Romero Jr., Toni Rose, Senfronia Thompson
  • Board of Education: None
  • Congress: None

This list may change before the parties finalize their candidate rosters.

Local Election News

Meanwhile, we have some news from local runoff and special elections.

Alice: Former council member Elida Garza, who was recalled earlier this year, filed as a candidate in the January 20 special election for her seat. Two other candidates, including another former council member, are in the race.

Copperas Cove: Marc Payne won today’s runoff election for council P6 over John Hull, 64%-36%.

Donna: Former Mayor Rick Morales defeated former council member Simon Sauceda, 54%-46%, in the mayoral runoff election. Incumbent Mayor Irene Muñoz failed to make the runoff, finishing fourth in the November general election. Art Castillo defeated Lupita Bueno, 53%-47%, in the runoff for council P3.

©2017 Texas Election Source LLC