Rep. John Cyrier (R-Lockhart) announced he would not seek re-election to a fifth term.

“Serving the communities throughout District 17 has truly been a privilege and something I will always cherish,” he said in a statement. “I am immensely proud of the work we have accomplished and believe the time is right to embark on new opportunities.”

Cyrier won a 2015 special runoff election over Brent Golemon, 52%-48%, to succeed former Rep. Tim Kleinschmidt (R-Lexington), who won re-election to the House in 2014 but did not take the oath of office. After winning a primary rematch against Golemon in 2016, Cyrier did not have another primary opponent. Smithville business owner Jen Bezner and McDade attorney and retired IT specialist Tom Glass have previously established campaign committees for HD17 (Safe R) as Republicans.

Cyrier becomes the 20th House member elected to the 87th Legislature who has announced plans to not return for 2023.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

©2021 Texas Election Source LLC