U.S. Sen. John Cornyn (R) said he would “not object to the certification” of states’ electors “unless substantial, new evidence is presented,” breaking with President Trump and U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz (R). He joins U.S. Rep. Chip Roy (R-Austin) as the only members of the Texas delegation who have publicly said they would not object during tomorrow’s (Wednesday’s) joint session of Congress to count electoral votes.

“I am disappointed in the election results. Any one person’s disappointment, however, cannot and should not override the legitimate votes of millions of Americans and our duty to uphold the Constitution,” Cornyn said in a letter to supporters. “Doing so would be a violation of my oath, do irreparable harm to our great democracy and set a dangerous precedent for future elections.”

Shortly thereafter, Trump tagged Cornyn and other top Republican leaders in a tweet bemoaning “the weak and ineffective RINO section of the Republican Party.”

Cruz is leading a group of 13 senators who intend to object to certification in an effort to appoint a commission to conduct an “emergency 10-day audit” of the election results and “assess voter fraud claims on the merits.” Cornyn said he opposes Cruz’s election commission proposal.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

©2021 Texas Election Source LLC