The House and Semate adopted the conference committee report (CCR) for Senate Bill 6 by Sen. Joan Huffman (R-Houston), the congressional redistricting plan.

The CCR retained a House amendment by Rep. Senfronia Thompson (D-Houston) that realigned CD18 closer to its current configuration and unpaired U.S. Reps. Sheila Jackson Lee (D-Houston) and Al Green (D-Houston). The CCR also retains House amendments that reportedly place Rep. Steve Toth’s (R-The Woodlands) residence within open CD8 and Rep. Trey Martinez Fischer’s (D-San Antonio) residence into open CD35.

Prior to the CCR’s adoption, the League of United Latin American Citizens and other plaintiffs filed a federal lawsuit (PDF) challenging the redistricting plans, arguing they “unlawfully dilute the voting strength of Latinos.”

The Third Called Session of the 87th Texas Legislature concludes by law tomorrow (Tuesday).

Early voting is underway for the November 2 constitutional, general and special elections.

SD10: U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz (R) endorsed Sen. Phil King (R-Weatherford).

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

©2021 Texas Election Source LLC