Rep. Garnet Coleman (D-Houston), the fifth most senior member of the House, announced he will not seek re-election, and the Dean of the Senate confirmed he would run for mayor of Houston in 2023.

“I am proud to have represented the people of District 147 for the last 30 plus years,” Coleman said in a statement. “I hope that I have served them well, and I look forward to continuing to serve our community in a non-elected capacity.”

Coleman won a 1991 special election to succeed the late Rep. Larry Q. Evans (D-Houston) and has been re-elected 15 times since. He and Evans are the only two people to represent HD147 (Safe D). Prior to 1983, the highest district number was 101, a relic of the era when some representatives were not elected from single-member districts. Expect a fairly large field of candidates to enter the race in the next few weeks.

He becomes the 24th House member and 28th legislator elected to the 87th Legislature who have announced plans to not return for 2023.

Reps. Michelle Beckley (D-Carrollton), Alex Dominguez (D-Brownsville), Phil King (R-Weatherford), Matt Krause (R-Fort Worth), Ina Minjarez (D-San Antonio), Tan Parker (R-Flower Mound), Eddie Rodriguez (D-Austin) and James White (R-Hillister) are seeking other offices. Rep. Celia Israel (D-Austin) is exploring a run for mayor. Reps. Kyle Biedermann (R-Fredericksburg), John Cyrier (R-Lockhart), Joe Deshotel (D-Beaumont), John Frullo (R-Lubbock), Dan Huberty (R-Humble), Lyle Larson (R-San Antonio), Ben Leman (R-Iola), Eddie Lucio III (D-Brownsville), Jim Murphy (R-Houston), Chris Paddie (R-Marshall), Scott Sanford (R-McKinney) and John Turner (D-Dallas) are retiring. Former Rep. Jake Ellzey (R-Waxahachie) is now in Congress, and former Rep. Leo Pacheco (D-San Antonio) resigned.

Four Senators are not returning. Sen. Dawn Buckingham (R-Lakeway) is running for Land Commissioner. Sens. Eddie Lucio Jr. (D-Brownsville), Jane Nelson (R-Flower Mound) and Kel Seliger (R-Amarillo) are retiring.

Meanwhile, saying it is “no secret” that he intends to run, Sen. John Whitmire (D-Houston) confirmed he would run for Houston mayor in 2023. Whitmire, who has already filed for re-election, intends to serve in the Legislature during the session. He would not be required to resign to run in the November 2023 mayoral election. Mayor Sylvester Turner is term-limited.

GOV (Likely R): The campaign of Gov. Greg Abbott (R) announced he raised nearly $5M during the period during and around the third special session. According to a press release, 43% of the more than 42K contributors were “new donors.” Abbott raised around $9.5M during the three special sessions and has raised at least $28M since late June. The special session reports do not cover the entire period since July 1, so his fundraising total so far this year is almost certainly north of $30M. He has raised nearly $150M for his campaign since being elected governor in 2014 and $234M since 1995.

Abbott’s campaign filed an ethics complaint against Beto O’Rourke (D) for failing to have an advertising disclaimer on his campaign’s website. As of 11 a.m. today (Thursday), there was no visible disclaimer on the site’s home page, but one had been added to the home page later in the day.

LTGOV (Lean R): Reps. John Bucy (D-Cedar Park) and James Talarico (D-Round Rock) endorsed Mike Collier (D).

LAND open (Likely R): Austin conservationist Jay Kleberg, whose family owns the famous King Ranch, announced he would seek the Democratic nomination for the office being vacated by Comm. George P. Bush (R). Kleberg unsuccessfully sought the Republican nomination for HD78 in 2010 (44%).

SD27 open (Lean D): McAllen attorney Morgan LaMantia announced she would seek the seat being vacated by Sen. Eddie Lucio Jr. (D-Brownsville) as a Democrat.

HD57 open (Likely R): Shady Shores council member Matthew E. Haines established a campaign committee for a potential run for this newly drawn Denton Co. district.

HD93 (Likely R): Fort Worth pastor Nate Schatzline (R) established a campaign committee for a potential run as a Republian for the seat being vacated by Rep. Matt Krause (R-Fort Worth).

CD24 (Likely R): Dallas mediator Kathy Fragnoli established a campaign committee for a potential challenge of U.S. Rep. Beth Van Duyne (R-Irving) as a Democrat.

Harris Co.: Former Rep. Gina Calanni (D-Houston) announced she would challenge Co. Comm. Jack Cagle (R).

©2021 Texas Election Source LLC