SD8: Angela Paxton, a Plano guidance counselor and wife of Atty. Gen. Ken Paxton, is considering running for the seat being vacated by Sen. Van Taylor (R-Plano) as a Republican, multiple outlets reported. Reps. Jodie Laubenberg (R-Wylie), Jeff Leach (R-Plano), Scott Sanford (R-McKinney) and Matt Shaheen (R-Plano) – all from Collin Co. – indicated they would support Paxton if she entered the race, reported the Texas Tribune’s Patrick Svitek. Already in the race is businessman Phillip Huffines, brother of Sen. Don Huffines (R-Dallas). Rep. Jonathan Stickland (R-Bedford) has endorsed Huffines. Leach and Shaheen both considered the race but have opted to seek re-election to their HD67 and HD66 seats, respectively. Ken Paxton represented SD8 for two years before being elected to his current position.

HD88: Perryton insurance agent Jason Huddleston announced he would challenge Rep. Ken King (R-Canadian) in the Republican primary.

To access this post you need a TX Elects Subscription.


FOR JUST $19.99 A MONTH OR $199.99 A YEAR