Filing for a place on the 2018 continues until 6 p.m. local time on December 11. Please see our Crib Sheets for candidates’ filing status.

SD30: Nocona church restorer Craig Carter established a campaign committee for a potential challenge of Sen. Craig Estes (R-Wichita Falls) as a Republican.

HD20: Georgetown engineer Stephen Wyman filed as a Democrat to challenge Rep. Terry Wilson (R-Granite Shoals). Wyman ran unsuccessfully for the seat in 2014 (23%) and for SD5 in 2010 (29%) and 2006 (35%). He ran unsuccessfully for CD31 in 2012 (23%).

HD29: Pearland general contractor Dylan Forbis established a campaign committee for a potential challenge of Rep. Ed Thompson (R-Pearland), likely as a Democrat.

HD65: Gov. Greg Abbott (R) endorsed Rep. Ron Simmons (R-Carrollton).

HD72: Gov. Greg Abbott (R) endorsed Rep. Drew Darby (R-San Angelo).

HD84: Lubbock attorney Austin Carrizales established a campaign committee for a potential challenge of Rep. John Frullo (R-Lubbock) as a Democrat. Carrizales unsuccessfully ran for Lubbock County Judge in 2014 (24%). He is at least the third Democrat to take a formal step toward challenging Frullo.

HD105: Irving engineer and Irving ISD trustee Dinesh Mali filed to challenge Rep. Rodney Anderson (R-Grand Prairie) in the primary. Mali won a 2015 election to the school board (57%) after an unsuccessful 2011 bid (9%).

HD116: Annie’s List endorsed Rep. Diana Arévalo (D-San Antonio) and said in a statement that it would “support her re-election vigorously.” Former Rep. Trey Martinez Fischer (D-San Antonio) is widely believed to be on the cusp of announcing a bid to retake the seat he held for eight terms.

HD126: Houston management director Natali Hurtado filed as a Democrat for the seat being vacated by Rep. Kevin Roberts (R-Houston). She was the district director for former Rep. Kristi Thibaut (D-Houston).

HD128: Former Rep. Wayne Smith (R-Baytown) will be a featured guest at an upcoming fundraiser for Terry Sain, who is challenging Rep. Briscoe Cain (R-Deer Park) in the primary. Cain ousted Smith in the 2016 primary runoff by 23 votes. Responding to a tweet about the fundraiser, Cain responded, “It’s almost like Wayne Smith isn’t happy with me.”

TBD: Dallas resident Brad Perry established a campaign committee for a potential state race but did not indicate which office he might seek. We were unable to identify him conclusively.

CD6: Midlothian former Naval fighter pilot Jake Ellzey filed to challenge U.S. Rep. Joe Barton (R-Ennis) in the primary. Ellzey unsuccessfully sought the open HD10 seat in 2014 when he finished third in the four-way Republican primary (16%). We took a look at the political leanings of CD6 and Barton’s potential re-election hurdles here.

CD16 open: El Paso veteran and business owner Anthony Parker established a campaign committee for a potential run for the seat being vacated by U.S. Rep. Beto O’Rourke (D-El Paso) as a Democrat.

Harris Co.: Early voting begins tomorrow for the three December 9 runoffs for Houston Community College and Houston ISD trustees. About 220K voters are eligible to participate in these elections.

Donna: Early voting is underway for the December 12 mayoral and council runoff elections. Incumbent Mayor Irene Muñoz failed to make the runoff, which pits council member Simon Sauceda against Rick Morales.

©2017 Texas Election Source LLC