Filing for partisan nomination or an independent candidacy for the 2022 general election continues through December 13. Our Crib Sheets are updated frequently with the latest candidate filings.

SD2 (Safe R): Sen. Bob Hall (R-Edgewood) filed for re-election, ending any speculation that he might retire.

SD11 open (Likely R): Former Texas Republican Party vice chair Robin Armstrong filed for the seat being vacated by Sen. Larry Taylor (R-Friendswood), setting up a contested primary against Rep. Mayes Middleton (R-Wallisville).

Rep. Greg Bonnen (R-Friendswood) announced he would not run for open SD11 and would seek re-election, for which he filed on the first day of the filing period. This is an example of a candidate filing that has not yet been reported by the county party, which is why our “retirement watch” list (See below) is longer than it should be.

HD57 open (Likely R): Texans for Lawsuit Reform PAC endorsed Richard Hayes (R).

HD86 (Safe R): Rep. John Smithee (R-Amarillo) filed for re-election. ending any speculation that he might retire.

HD100 open (Safe D): Dallas nonprofit executive Venton Jones filed as a Democrat for the seat being vacated by Rep. Jasmine Crockett (D-Dallas), who is running for Congress.

Retirement Watch: We have not seen confirmation or announcement of filing for one statewide official, four Senators and 21 House members who have either indicated they were seeking re-election or have not announced plans to do something else. As noted above, filings are not necessarily reported by county parties while the filing period is ongoing, so it is possible that some (or many) listed below have in fact filed, especially those legislators whose districts lie entirely within one county.

  • Statewide: Justice Evan Young
  • Senate Republicans: Charles Perry
  • Senate Democrats: Carol Alvarado, Jose Menendez and Beverly Powell
  • House Republicans: Ernest Bailes, Cecil Bell Jr., Jeff Cason, Justin Holland, Todd Hunter, Stan Lambert, Brooks Landgraf, Jeff Leach, Matt Schaefer, Matt Shaheen and Steve Toth
  • House Democrats: Diego Bernal, Jessica González, Terry Meza, Eddie Morales Jr., Victoria Neave, Claudia Ordaz Perez, Ana-Maria Ramos, Ron Reynolds, Carl Sherman and Erin Zwiener

Of these, Powell and Cason face the toughest roads to re-election after redistricting dramatically altered the partisan lean of their districts.

CD30 open (Safe D): Cedar Hill life coach and Cedar Hill ISD trustee Keisha Lankford filed as a Democrat for the seat being vacated by U.S. Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-Dallas).

Harris County: Former County Clerk Stan Stanart (R) filed to regain his former office.

Tarrant County: Arlington council member and former congressional candidate Ruby Faye Woolridge filed as a Democrat for county commissioner P2.

Rollingwood: Longtime Pink Building denizen Gavin Massingill was appointed by the city council to serve the remainder of the unexpired term of former Mayor Mike Dyson, whose resignation was effective yesterday (Tuesday). Because there is less than one year remaining in that term, the council was able to appoint a successor rather than hold a special election. Massingill was previously selected to be the mayor pro tem.