Early voting begins on Monday for the November 5 constitutional amendment, general and special election. The League of Women Voters has created a Constitutional Amendment Election Voters Guide which explains each amendment, provides arguments for and against each and a short video about each. For communities with a local League, the www.VOTE411.org website gives voters the opportunity to view local races and create a personalized ballot they can print to take to the polls.

House Speaker: Reps. Trent Ashby (R-Lufkin), Tan Parker (R-Flower Mound) and Tony Tinderholt (R-Arlington) called on Speaker Dennis Bonnen (R-Angleton) to resign. In a statement, Tinderholt said a change in leadership is needed “in order to restore significant trust and confidence in the people’s Legislature.” Parker said in a statement that “Speaker Bonnen should resign in order for the House to heal and move forward.” At least six Republican members have called for Bonnen’s resignation. Rep. Phil Stephenson (R-Wharton), who is among the six, told the Dallas Morning News that he thought 35-40 other Republicans agree with him. The Republican Caucus is scheduled to meet in Austin on Friday.

To access this post you need a TX Elects Subscription.


FOR JUST $19.99 A MONTH OR $199.99 A YEAR