Filing Deadline: Tomorrow (Wednesday) is the deadline for candidates to file for the HD28, HD100 and HD148 special elections.

SD24: Sen. Dawn Buckingham (R-Lakeway) announced she would seek re-election to a second term.

HD17: Rep. John Cyrier (R-Lockhart) announced he would seek re-election to a fourth term.

HD92 open: Bedford Mayor Jim Griffin resigned so that he run for the seat being vacated by Rep. Jonathan Stickland (R-Bedford) as a Republican. A November 5 special election will fill his unexpired term, and he will remain mayor until a successor is elected. He was first elected in 2012 following eight non-consecutive years as a council member. Griffin was unopposed for his 2018 re-election bid, though he faced an unsuccessful recall effort several months later.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

©2019 Texas Election Source LLC