AG: One of the three special prosecutors in Attorney General Ken Paxton’s criminal securities fraud case has asked to withdraw. Nicole DeBorde wrote in a legal motion that she “can no longer devote the requisite time and attention” to the case and that she received the consent of the other two special prosecutors before seeking to withdraw. Last week, the Court of Criminal Appeals declined the special prosecutors’ request to reconsider its November ruling striking down their fees.

Susan Criss


Sen. Larry Taylor

Sen. Larry

SD11: Former District Judge Susan Criss (D) formally announced her challenge of Sen. Larry Taylor (R-Friendswood). Criss unsuccessfully ran for open HD23 in 2014, losing to Wayne Faircloth (45%). Taylor was unopposed for re-election in 2016. He defeated Democratic opponent Jacqueline Acquistapace, 66%-34%, in a 2012 open-seat race.

HD20: Austin court administrator Jessica Tiedt appears to have established an ActBlue page for a potential challenge of Rep. Terry Wilson (R-Marble Falls). She has previously established a state campaign committee, but she did not designate an office sought at the time. She unsuccessfully ran for Williamson County Clerk in 2018, losing the general election to Nancy Rister (R), 53%-47%. The 2018 Democratic nominee received 28% of the vote against Wilson.

HD108: Dallas investment banker Shawn Terry announced his campaign raised $235K during the past five months, and he has $195K on hand. He is one of at least three Democrats seeking to challenge Rep. Morgan Meyer (R-Dallas).

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

©2019 Texas Election Source LLC