Filing for a place on the 2018 continues until 6 p.m. local time on December 11. Please see our Crib Sheets for candidates’ filing status.

AGRIC: Spring resident Richard Carpenter established a campaign committee for a potential challenge of Comm. Sid Miller (R) likely as a Libertarian.

HD15 open: The Woodlands environmental manager Ron Keichline established a campaign committee for a potential run for the seat being vacated by Rep. Mark Keough (R-The Woodlands), likely as a Democrat.

HD18: Liberty resident Frederick Lemond established a campaign committee for a potential challenge of Rep. Ernest Bailes (R-Shepherd). We were unable to determine his party affiliation.

Rep. Ron Reynolds

Rep. Ron Reynolds

HD27: A three-judge appellate court upheld a 2014 misdemeanor conviction of barratry against Rep. Ron Reynolds (D-Missouri City), who will appeal the ruling. Reynolds has maintained his innocence throughout the legal process. Since the conviction, Reynolds has lost his law license, been ordered to pay a $504K judgment in a civil case, filed for bankruptcy and been sued by the Office of Attorney General for delinquent fines owed to the Texas Ethics Commission for failing to file campaign finance reports and personal financial statements. He also not filed a campaign finance report in nearly two years. Reynolds said he intends to seek a fifth term but has not yet filed for re-election, as far as we can tell. In 2016, he was forced into a primary runoff but prevailed. Missouri City attorney Wilvin Carter has filed to challenge Reynolds in the Democratic primary.

HD133: Houston resident and frequent candidate Sam Tejas filed as a Democrat to challenge Rep. Jim Murphy (R-Houston). We previously reported that he had re-established his campaign committee and incorrectly thought he would run as a Republican. He has run as a Republican three times since 2002 and as a Democrat once.

ED12: Board member Tincy Miller announced she would not seek re-election. She returned to the board in 2013 following a two-year absence. Miller previously served on the board from 1985 until 2011.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

©2017 Texas Election Source