HD120 open: A total of 36 people voted in person today in the HD120 special runoff election between independent Laura Thompson and Democrat Lou Miller, bringing the three-day total to 119. The total does not include ballots by mail, of which there are likely to be significantly more than ballots cast in person. Early voting ends Friday.

Austin: Council members Delia Garza (D2) and Don Zimmerman (D6) officially have challengers, and Council member Sheri Gallo (D10) has filed for re-election. Wesley Faulkner, a social media manager, has filed against Garza. Web developer Jimmy Flannigan is seeking a rematch for the D6 seat, which he lost to Zimmerman in the December 2014 runoff by 191 votes. The filing period ends August 22.