TAB Endorsements: The Texas Assoc. of Business PAC released its list of endorsements for the 2018 primaries. The list is mostly comprised of incumbents, but the group also endorsed:

  • Angela Paxton for open SD8
  • Cody Harris for open HD8
  • Cynthia Flores for open HD52
  • Challenger Jim Largent over Rep. Mike Lang (R-Granbury) for HD60
  • Reggie Smith for open HD62
  • Challenger Dave Campbell over Rep. Kyle Biedermann (R-Fredericksburg) for HD73
  • Candy Noble for open HD89
  • Sam Harless for open HD126.

The group endorsed Rep. Cindy Burkett (R-Sunnyvale) over Sen. Bob Hall (R-Edgewood) for SD2 in October.

All of endorsed candidates are Republicans except Reps. Ryan Guillen (D-Rio Grande City), Oscar Longoria (D-Mission), Rene Oliveira (D-Brownsville), Philip Cortez (D-San Antonio), Tomas Uresti (D-San Antonio), Jarvis Johnson (D-Houston) and Shawn Thierry (D-Houston). The group did not endorse any members of the House Freedom Caucus, drawing this reaction from Rep. Jonathan Stickland (R-Bedford):

All of the group’s legislative endorsements have been entered into our Crib Sheets. Statewide and judicial candidate endorsements will be issued in a separate release.

HD107: The Dallas Morning News endorsed Joe Ruzicka in the Republican primary to face Rep. Victoria Neave (D-Dallas).

HD114: The Dallas Morning News endorsed Rep. Jason Villalba (R-Dallas).

HD134: The Susanna Dokupil campaign released a new ad focusing on the Legislature’s failure to pass “meaningful property tax reform” and highlighting Gov. Greg Abbott’s (R) endorsement.

SEN: A new federal campaign committee has been established to support both U.S. Sens. John Cornyn (R) and Ted Cruz (R). The Texas Senate Victory Committee will also support the National Republican Senate Committee, of which Cornyn is a former chair, and the Great America Committee, which is led by Vice President Pence. Lisa Lisker, who served as U.S. Sen. Marco Rubio’s (R-Fla.) presidential campaign treasurer, is listed as treasurer.

CD27 open: The Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Assoc. PAC endorsed Bech Bruun for the seat being vacated by U.S. Rep. Blake Farenthold (R-Corpus Christi).

Orange Co.: The lone Democratic candidate running for county judge has been declared ineligible by the county party after his filing fee check bounced. Donald Brown’s name will remain on the primary ballot, but he will not appear on the general election ballot. Brown’s ineligibility means the party will have no candidates for countywide office in November. A Democrat is contesting one county commissioner and one justice of the peace position.

©2018 Texas Election Source LLC