Speaker Dade Phelan (R-Beaumont) appointed Rep. Briscoe Cain (R-Deer Park) to chair the Committee on Elections. Jessica González (D-Dallas) was appointed vice-chair. Phelan appointed Reps. Michelle Beckley (D-Carrollton), John Bucy (D-Cedar Park), Travis Clardy (R-Nacogdoches), Art Fierro (D-El Paso), Jacey Jetton (R-Richmond), Mike Schofield (R-Katy) and Valoree Swanson (R-Spring) to the committee.

Bucy, Cain, Fierro and Swanson served on the committee during the 86th Legislature when it was chaired by Rep. Stephanie Klick (R-Fort Worth).

Cain filed three bills related to elections before the session started.

  • House Bill 329 would require the Secretary of State to use information from the U.S. Dept. of Homeland Security and the Texas Dept. of Safety to cancel the voter registrations of non-citizens and establish an exam for election judges, among other provisions.
  • House Bill 330 would require a supermajority vote for bond elections, require cities entirely located within certain counties to contract with the county for election service, establish new penalties and increase others for election law violations and establish new procedures for early voting at residential care facilities, among other provisions.
  • House Bill 335 establishes penalties for voter registrars who fail to cancel the registrations of non-citizens, among other provisions.

On November 6, in a now-deleted tweet with the hashtag #lawyersfortrump, Cain said he was flying to Philadelphia to “fight for a fair and honest election in Pennsylvania.”

Phelan tapped Rep. Todd Hunter (R-Corpus Christi) to chair the Redistricting Committee, and he selected Rep. Toni Rose (D-Dallas) as vice-chair.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

©2021 Texas Election Source LLC