CD27: Texas Water Development Board chair Bech Bruun resigned, and he is expected to challenge U.S. Rep. Blake Farenthold (R-Corpus Christi) in the Republican primary. Meanwhile, Port O’Connor boat sales and service business owner Chris Mapp filed in the Republican primary. Mapp unsuccessfully challenged U.S. Sen. John Cornyn (R) in the 2014 Republican primary (2%). With today’s developments, Farenthold will have at least five primary challengers.

CD6 open: Craig Walker filed in the increasingly crowded Republican primary for the seat being vacated by U.S. Rep. Joe Barton (R-Ennis). We were unable to identify him conclusively.

CD10: John W. Cook filed to challenge U.S. Rep. Michael McCaul (R-Austin) in the Republican primary. We were unable to identify him conclusively.

CD11: Midland resident Paul Myers filed in the Republican primary against U.S. Rep. Mike Conaway (R-Midland).

CD21 open: U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz endorsed his former aide Chip Roy to succeed the retiring U.S. Rep. Lamar Smith (R-San Antonio). Meanwhile, the Lone Star Project endorsed Joseph Kopser.

CD30: Dallas documentary filmmaker Eric Williams filed in the Democratic primary against U.S. Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-Dallas). Williams ran for CD30 as an independent in 2014, receiving 5% of the vote. He unsuccessfully ran for Dallas City Council D8 in 2015 and 2017 (5% and 14%, respectively). His web site said he was a congressional candidate in 2016, but he did not appear on the ballot.

©2017 Texas Election Source LLC