Voter Registration: Thursday is the deadline to register to vote for the May 4 uniform election.

SD13: Houston commercial financier William Booher established a campaign committee for a potential challenge of Sen. Borris Miles (D-Houston) as a Republican.

CD14: Pearland educator Adrienne Bell re-authorized her campaign committee for a potential rematch against U.S. Rep. Randy Weber (R-Pearland). Bell raised more than $200K for her 2018 race, which she lost, 59%-39%.

CD20: Former Sen. Leticia Van de Putte (D-San Antonio) is considering a run for the seat expected to be vacated by U.S. Rep. Joaquin Castro (D-San Antonio), who is expected to challenge U.S. Sen. John Cornyn (R).

Mission: The 13th Court of Appeals overturned a lower court ruling that ordered a new mayoral election, which will let stand Armando O’Caña’s June 2018 runoff victory over incumbent Beto Salinas. In October 2018, District Judge Bonner Dorsey found clear and convincing evidence that at least 158 illegal votes were cast in the runoff, one more than the final margin of 157 votes. Dorsey ordered a new election but stayed his decision pending appeal. Salinas is expected to appeal to the Texas Supreme Court.

San Antonio: The San Antonio Express-News endorsed Mayor Ron Nirenberg for re-election.

©2019 Texas Election Source LLC