Special Elections: Tomorrow (Tuesday) is Election Day in HD79 and HD145. We will have live returns and analysis beginning at 7 p.m. CST at https://txelects.wpengine.com/live.

Early voting began (Monday) for the HD125 special election to fill the unexpired term of former Rep. Justin Rodriguez (D-San Antonio), who resigned earlier this year to accept an appointment to the Bexar Co. Commissioners Court. A total of 256 people voted in person on the first day.

Meanwhile, the San Antonio Express-News endorsed Coda Rayo-Garza. Also, the San Antonio Express-News’s Brian Chasnoff reported that Steve Huerta is disputing claims that he is ineligible to run for the office because of a felony conviction nearly 20 years ago and does not meet residency requirements.

CD3: Lorie Burch, who lost to U.S. Rep. Van Taylor (R-Plano), 54%-44%, in November announced she would challenge him in 2020.

Dallas: Council member Jennifer Staubach Gates filed for re-election.

McAllen: Council member Aida Ramirez announced she would not seek re-election. She was first elected in 2001.

©2019 Texas Election Source LLC