LTGOV (Lean R): Rep. Michelle Beckley (D-Carrollton) announced she would seek the Democratic nomination to challenge Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick (R). Beckley had been running for Congress but suspended her campaign shortly after the new maps were approved. No sitting state representative has won a statewide race since Dan Morales (D-San Antonio) and Rick Perry (R-Haskell) in 1990. Beckley faces 2018 nominee Mike Collier, who received 46% of the vote against Patrick, and Wimberly political analyst Matthew Dowd.

HD22 (Likely D): Quorum Report’s Scott Braddock tweeted a “rumor out of Southeast Texas” that Rep. Joe Deshotel (D-Beaumont) may not seek re-election. He was first elected in 1998 and has been re-elected 11 times, mostly unopposed. He did not face his first Republican challenger until 2020 when Deshotel received 68% of the vote.

HD37 open (Lean D): Luis Villarreal, a former aide to Sen. Eddie Lucio Jr. (D-Brownsville), announced on Facebook that he will seek the seat.

HD121 (Likely R): Rep. Steve Allison (R-San Antonio) announced he would seek re-election.

©2021 Texas Election Source LLC