Filing for a place on the 2018 continues until 6 p.m. local time on December 11. Please see our Crib Sheets for candidates’ filing status.

GOV: Houston investor and entrepreneur Andrew White has scheduled a December 7 announcement outside the Houston elementary school bearing the name of his father, former Gov. Mark White (D).

Rep. Carol Alvarado

Rep. Carol Alvarado

HD145: Rep. Carol Alvarado (D-Houston) announced she would seek re-election, passing on open CD29 seat. In an email to supporters, Alvarado said she follow through on “the encouragement that many of you have given me about laying the groundwork for a campaign for a possible vacancy in Senate District 6” should Sen. Sylvia Garcia (D-Houston) win the CD29 race. Alvarado lost the 2013 special runoff election for SD6 to Garcia, 53%-47%.

CCA8 open: Texas Right to Life PAC endorsed Michelle Slaughter for the open Republican nomination.

SD30: Texas Right to Life PAC endorsed Rep. Pat Fallon (R-Frisco) over Sen. Craig Estes (R-Wichita Falls). Meanwhile, Denton council member Keely Briggs announced she would run as an independent. She was first elected to the council in 2015 and re-elected this year.

SD31: Texas Alliance for Life PAC endorsed Sen. Kel Seliger (R-Amarillo).

HD8 open: Oakwood cattle raiser Wesley Ratcliff filed as a Democrat for the seat being vacated by Rep, Byron Cook (R-Corsicana).

HD14: Bryan attorney Rick Davis announced he would challenge Rep. John Raney (R-College Station) in the Republican primary. He is a former district judge (JD272) and Brazos Co. Court at Law judge. He is the third Republican challenger to enter the race, joining College Station transportation business owner Sarah Laningham and College Station recent college graduate Jeston Texeira.

HD88: Hart council member Ezekiel Barron established a campaign committee for a potential challenge of Rep. Ken King (R-Canadian) as a Democrat. He would be the first Democrat to seek the seat since former Rep. Warren Chisum (R-Pampa) last ran as a Democrat in 1994. Barron considered running for the open CD19 seat in 2016 but did not appear on the ballot.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

©2017 Texas Election Source LLC