AFL-CIO COPE Endorsements: Delegates to the Texas AFL-CIO COPE convention in Austin voted to endorse former Dallas Co. Sheriff Lupe Valdez. She and Andrew White appeared at the convention over the weekend. The union also endorsed Mike Collier (LTGOV), Justin Nelson (AG), Tex Morgan (LAND), Kim Olson (AGRIC) and Chris Spellmon (RRC) for executive statewide office. The union endorsed the five Democrats running for statewide judicial office. The union made no endorsement for U.S. Senate. Collier, Morgan and Spellmon have primary opponents. The union’s endorsements for legislative races are expected soon.

LAND: Rep. Matt Krause (R-Fort Worth) endorsed Land Comm. George P. Bush.

HD64: The Dallas Morning News endorsed Andrew Morris for the Democratic nomination to face Rep. Lynn Stucky (R-Sanger), who the paper previously endorsed in his contested primary.

HD104: The Dallas Morning News endorsed challenger Jessica Gonzalez over Rep. Roberto Alonzo (D-Dallas).

HD105: The Dallas Morning News endorsed Rep. Rodney Anderson (R-Grand Prairie) and Terry Meza in their respective primary races. Anderson defeated Mesa by just 64 votes in 2016.

HD127: Reginald Grant, the primary challenger to Rep. Dan Huberty (R-Humble), has been declared ineligible by a district judge for failing to meet the statutory residency requirement. In a hearing two weeks ago, Huberty’s attorney argued that Grant moved to a relative’s home outside the district in March and did not move back into the district within six months prior to filing for the office. Grant’s attorney did not dispute the timeline and said Grant intended the move to be temporary. He is expected to appeal the decision. Grant’s name will remain on the ballot because the deadline to remove it has passed. He will also remain on our Crib Sheet with an indication he is ineligible.

Dallas Co. Lawsuit: The Dallas Co. Republican Party has sued to remove 128 Democratic candidates from the ballot because the signature of Dallas Co. Democratic Party Chair and former Rep. Carol Donovan (D-Irving) may have been forged. Democrats brushed off the lawsuit as “shenanigans.” We have not seen the actual lawsuit and are not sure which provision of law is alleged to have been violated.

Alice: Former council member Ron Burke (60%) defeated former council member Elida Garza (30%) and another candidate outright for Garza’s unexpired term. Garza was recalled in November but filed to regain her P2 seat. Robert Molina won the special election for the P4 seat. Gov. Abbott called the emergency special election after the recalls of Garza and Yolanda Sosa Moran left the council short of a quorum and unable to call an election.

Lubbock: Mayor Dan Pope filed for re-election. He reported raising more than $53K during the second half of 2017, and he has $96K on hand.

McAllen: Javier Villalobos (37%) and Timothy Wilkins (35%) advanced a special runoff election for an unexpired D1 council term.

San Juan: Police officer Lenny Sanchez won a special election for an unexpired council term triggered by Raudel Maldonado’s candidacy for Hidalgo Co. Treasurer.

Temple: Mayor Danny Dunn announced he would not seek re-election. Council member Tim Davis announced he would run for mayor, triggering a special election for his seat. The special election is expected to coincide with the May 6 uniform election.

©2018 Texas Election Source LLC